Get it all out of my head.

January 15, 2007

Well, I’m not certain a blog is the right format for what I want to do, but it’s a good place to start and, hell, everyone’s doing it.

I’m a product research nut.  When it’s time to get a new TV, or washing machine, or hair dryer, or car, etc., I start researching.  I hit web sites, forums, Consumer Reports, you name it.  I’m not interested in the opinions I find, exactly; more like raw data.  Whatever the topic, I want to understand it at as low a level as I can.  Naturally, this isn’t possible for all topics, but I ignore that restriction and make the attempt anyway.

Invariably I will later end up in a conversation with a family member/friend/colleague/local celebrity/plumber regarding something I’ve researched recently.  “Oh, you’re about to get a new vacuum?  Well, let me tell you what I’ve found out…”  Except I won’t remember everything.

So now I will send them here.  They (and you) can read what I’ve compiled and the conclusions I’ve drawn.  I obviously cannot include everything as there doesn’t seem to be a way to attach spreadsheets and whatnot, but I will put as much as I can, and when I draw conclusions or offer opinions, I will make sure to mark them as such.

I’ll also post opinions/rants about whatever I’m worked up about.

2 Responses to “Get it all out of my head.”

  1. Nelson R. Says:

    Chris,

    Congratulations on taking your first step in the blogging world. I really have enjoyed my experience and I know you have the mind for it.

    I look forward to reading about what’s on your mind.

    Good luck and best wishes!

    P.S. If you host the blog yourself, using WordPress, there are options to store files and reference them in your blog. Just a thought.

  2. chrisheer Says:

    Thanks. I may get there at some point, but for now the idea is to just keep it simple. 🙂


Leave a Reply

